Burscough & Lathom Mens Bowling League

2011 League Pairs Competition Last 8

Finals at Hoole Village Hall BC on Friday 23rd September at 6-30pm (Practice from 6pm)

Last 8 - Each Losing Pair receives 15

K.Cheetham & D.Haskayne Burscough RBL 21 V 16 C.Harding & M.Milne Botanic Gardens
W.Roddan & R.Tweddell Zetland 21 V 15 S.Iddon & W.Neale Burscough RBL
N.Noren & A.Wright Mere Brow 21 V 18 K.Stafford & P.Wilson London Hotel
A.Baxter & P.Rigby Hesketh Bank & Holmeswood 21 V 13 C.Coffey & J.Murray Fleetwood Hesketh


Semi-Finalists - Each Losing Pair receives 40

K.Cheetham & D.Haskayne Burscough RBL 21 V 08 W.Roddan & R.Tweddell Zetland
A.Baxter & P.Rigby Hesketh Bank & Holmeswood 21 V 17 N.Noren & A.Wright Mere Brow


Final - Winning Pair Receives 110 + The Pairs Knockout Shield & Losing Pair receives 70

K.Cheetham & D.Haskayne Burscough RBL 21 V 07 A.Baxter & P.Rigby Hesketh Bank & Holmeswood


On a fine & mild late summer evening, in front of a large crowd of around 50 spectators, Keith Cheetham & Dave Haskayne (Burscough RBL) comfortably won the title of the ever popular League pairs competition on the superb fast-running Hoole Village Hall green. In the final, after six ends the score was 7-5 in favour of the Burscough RBL pairing, then Dave leading extremely well on his favourite corner mark ably supported by Keith scored a 11 break, which their opponents Arthur Baxter (Hesketh Bank) & Phil Rigby (Holmeswood) could not match to swing the final in their favour. This took the score to 18-5 & in another five ends they had wrapped up the game 21-7 in a one-sided affair to secure the title for the first time. Earlier in the evening, they had a hard fought win of 21-16 against Chris Harding & Mike Milne (Botanic Gardens) in the last 8 & a comfortable win of 21-08 against Bill Roddan & Bob Tweddell (Zetland) in the semi-final, which included a 17 break in the first eight ends. Whilst Arthur & Phil beat Colin Coffey & Jimmy Murray (Fleetwood Hesketh) 21-13 in the last 8 & Neil Noren & Alan Wright (Mere Brow) 21-17 in a really tough match in the semi-final. However, the match of the night was in the last 8 when Bill Roddan & Bob Tweddell were trailing against Steve Iddon & Bill Neale (Burscough RBL) 0-10 after six ends & 3-13 after twelve ends before staging a remarkable comeback to win the game 21-15. Roger Lambert (President) congratulated the winners and runners-up as well as all the prizewinners before presenting the trophy & prizemoney. The League secretary, Keith Robinson, thanked Hoole Village Hall BC & their members for all the help in hosting the night & for the use of the excellent facilities.


Return to Reports MenuReturn to Home page